New Jersey Domestic Violence Law
Domestic violence is an equal-opportunity crime in New Jersey. Victims of domestic violence come from all walks of life, affecting even the state's most vulnerable citizens, its children, elderly and disabled people.
If you are a victim of domestic violence from a spouse or from someone living in your household, call us now. Call the Monmouth County domestic violence attorneys at the Law Offices of Steven P. Monaghan, LLC, at (732) 624-6343. Your first consultation is always free.
Under New Jersey Law, You Have Rights
The New Jersey Legislature enacted the Prevention Against Domestic Violence Act, N.J.S.A. 2C:25-17 et al., in 1991.
The act covers all people, including the elderly and disabled and defines a victim of domestic violence as a person who:
- Is 18 years or older
- Is a minor that was emancipated and has been the victim of abuse from a spouse, ex, or other member, past or present, of the home
- Shares a child with the abuser and was in, or is currently in, a dating relationship
- Is a victim, no matter how old they are, and the abuser is over 18 at the time of the abuse
How Domestic Violence is Defined Under the Act
Under the act, domestic violence includes:
- Terroristic threats
- Criminal restraint
- Sexual assault
- Criminal sexual abuse
- Criminal trespassing
- False imprisonment
- Criminal mischief
As a victim of domestic violence, there are many remedies you have under the law. To protect your rights, contact an experienced domestic violence attorney.
Your Rights Don't End at the New Jersey State Line
Under the Violence Against Women Act, the federal government has declared that if a victim with a restraining order taken out against abuser flees to another state, the order will still be enforced in the new state.
Are You Suffering Under Domestic Violence? Call Us.
If you are suffering under domestic violence, we can help you. For more than 60 years, we the Monmouth County domestic violence lawyers at the Law Offices of Steven P. Monaghan, LLC have helped domestic violence clients like you protect their rights and keep them safe from harm.
Your first consultation with us is always free. Call (732) 624-6343 or complete the online form.
Certified by the Supreme Court of New Jersey
Practicing Family Law Exclusively
Over 60 Years of Combined Experience
Recognized & Trusted by the New Jersey Community
Free In-Person Consultations